Thursday, 13 August 2015

THE TYPICAL AFRICAN WOMAN


Epitome of beauty!
Hardwork is her middle name,
And forgiveness is her last name.
She hides a lot of hurt and tears beneath
that contagious smile,
Her heart is made of gold,
She is her husband's backbone and confidant,
She'll wear rag to put a royal robe on her children.
After the day's tedious hustle,
She rushes home to be a cook for her family,
And still run night shift(as a typical wife).
"Mama, mama, mama" they call from all angles.
Of course she has to respond.
She's tired and weak but can't complain.
But most of all, she carries so much authority,
Yet so humble.
Her prayers go a long way, far into the future.
Her words carry so much weight.
When she says "Don't go!" don't try to
Cos if you do, you might not come back
And if you do, you might lose your legs.
When she says "Go" dance along as you do
Cos you will come back with full hands and smiles.
She is an African woman because that is who she is.

Tuesday, 11 August 2015

FEMINISM ISN'T BITTERNESS!!!

    We have different understanding when it comes to FEMINISM. And what some people don't seem to understand is the huge difference between advocating for gender equality and bitterness. A lot of females(africans most especially) throw away culture and embrace feminism like their lives are bent on it and don't apply wisdom. Feminism doesn't say you should be ambitious and not take care of your family or not respect your husband. It does not say you should be timid and not be able to express yourself or speak up when the need arises either. You just have to apply wisdom and not get too carried away such that you start facing terrible repercussions as a result of being a feminist. It doesn't preach violence but preaches confidence as a woman.
   Some western women have seen it as a medium to unleash and pour out their bitterness on men by calling men names and feeling they could totally do away with men(though some women do perfectly well without men but that vacum of a man being in her is always a big hole that cannot be filled) but that's not the main reason the "feminism movement"was created. Infact, in some western countries, ladies are not granted employment because they are females while other companies pay their female workers lesser than their male colleagues.
   Most african men kick against it cos the african culture preaches "always respect your husband" even if he beats, you gives you scars and maims you, you still have to stay put with him*that's brain washing*. I even heard a Somalian woman say her fellow Somalian women should know that being beaten as a woman is normal and even commended the act. What tha heck?! *that's low esteem for heaven's sake and indulging fellow women to enjoy domestic violence, sounded ignorant of her and very wrong* .
   Domestic violence is one of the things FEMINISM voices out against. A woman who is facing domestic violence shouldn't continue to stay with a "woman beater" as an husband cos he can kill her one day or she dies as a result of complications she suffers from the beating. Or is it a man who refuses to allow his woman work because he wants to monitor her movement or cut down on her expenses?
  I can go on and on but I needed to set the records straight cos feminism doesn't preach disrespect and is not violence but confidence.

#SecSchoolInNigeria-Pt2

   We got to the principal's office and mum entered. They exchanged pleasantries and my mum sat down. She narrated the whole story as I had told her the previous day at home. I was standing at my mum's back and principal kept opening her mouth as mum narrated. My mama put salt, maggi with palm join the story make e sweet. And so that her next action will be justified cos she was there to announce her presence in the school premises then match straight to Senior Ope's class and give him the beating of his life...lol."Ha! Ha!" Na im principal dey talk throughout. Mum nau said "let her remove her uniform and show you her back". Princpal said "No, madam! Don't worry. I understand all you've said. I'm very sorry" "ohhhh! But I've told this students to come to me an report if any senior beats them unnecessarily" Principal lamented .
   Principal realised my mum was bent on seeing the senior then she asked me "what is the name of the senior?" "I said Ope Olulaja" *I had gone to do research about the senior* "what class is he?" She asked again...I said "SS2 ma". She then told me to go to his class and tell him she wanted to see him.
   I hurriedly walked out of her office and danced along as I went to SS 2A to call senior Ope. I got to his class and was disappointed; nobody was in the class. I went back to principal moody thinking "so, my mum won't be able to da seria fun senior yi*deal with this senior*. "Ma, he is not in the class" I told her in a disappointing tone. "Ask his classmates where he is?" She told me. "Nobody is in the class ma" , I replied. "Go and check their time table for the subject they have now", she instructed.
   I got to the class and saw that they had Biology for that period meaning they were in the biology lab. So, I made straight to the Biology laboratory and took excuse from "Phylum Porifera"*that was what we called our Biology teacher then. "Excuse me sir, principal said I should call senior Ope Olulaja" I told. "Go and call him" he permitted. I entered the Biology class and checked everywhere only to find the NFA at the back playing with his friends". "Senior Ope! Principal is calling you" , I tapped him from behind. He turned ,smiled and said "Ehen? Hope no problem?" He questioned. I said "NO" To think he did not even recognise me again and had forgotten he drew the map of Africa on someone's bck yestrday. "Your own don done today" *I said in my mind.
  We got to principal' office and I told him to go in front and open the door. He entered and my mum looked back. She just yelled "So, iwo lo n'omo mi?" meaning "So, you are the one that beat my daughter?" *He was shocked and had to look back to recognise me* "I'm sorry ma" he replied as he postrated. "Wo...sha dobale beyen tori mo ti ra egba ti maa fi ya world map si e lara" meaning "see....just stay like that cos I've bought canes that I'll use to draw the map of the world on your body".
   Principal had to intervene and pleaded with mumsie to forgive him and said "ori bibe ko l'ogun ori fifo" meaning "you don't cut down a man'sw head because he has headache".  She had to calm down cos senior Ope was already crying when he sighted the canes mum brought.
  The duo *principa and senior Ope* pleaded with mum and begged me too to forgive him. I went back to my class to narrate the whole drama yo my friends...lol. From that day, senior Ope became calm.

#SecSchoolInNigeria

   So, I found this very interesting and had to write about one of my experiences in Epe Grammar School when I was in SS1.
   I went late to school that fateful day and we were told to kneel down* I was a perpetual late comer,tho..lol*. Senior Ope was one of the terrifying seniors we had in SS2 that time and happened to be on duty for that week*If you attended a government day secondary school, you will understand*. I then managed to sneak out of the crowd kneeling down. Senior Ope noticed and blocked me at the other side *as a smart senior* you know? then he confronted me and I denied that I was late. He said "I saw you!  You were late...If you no shut up now ehnnn, I go beat you sotey I go draw map of Africa for your back". Hearing that, I stood my ground that I was not late. He then started beating me and gave me scars on my back. 
    When I got home, I just went straight to my mum's room to undress*so that she will see the marks there*. She just shouted "talo shele yi fun e?" meaning "who did this to you?" I said "Its Senior Ope"..lol. My mama shout again "tani were to n je senior Ope?" LOL meaning "who is this so called mad person named senior Ope?" I said "he is my senior" dhe then continued "Senior? O n siwin ooo" meaning "he has mental illness ooo".
She then asked again "What did you do to him?" I said "because I went late to school" "lo se na e bayi?" meaning "that's why he beat you like this?".......I nau told her the part where "he said he will draw map of Africa on my back". She then said "ko buru ma ya world map si lara lola" meaning "Don't worry I will draw the world map on his body tomorrow".
   Next day came and I was sitting down jejely in my class when somebody came and said "James Deborah, your mummy is calling you outside". Ha! Fear first grip me....Lo and behold! Mile was waiting for me in her car outside. I entered the car and she said "come and take me to your principals office". Something just said I should check the back seat and I saw blala "cane". Haaaa....Aye oo! Mumsie bought cane ni sha. I was happy cos Senior Ope don too do pass him boundary for that school and its my mum that will finally break his backbone...lol.

Part 2 coming soon
  

Tuesday, 28 July 2015

TONIGHT!!

A poem written by Debby James.....

As the cool breeze brushed through her long hair,
Patting her cheeks with soft kisses,
She sat there quietly, wearing a straightface;
Only to realise she was imagining
*We'll look each other in the eye and profess our love for each other
Its not been so long since we last saw
Though it seemed like we've not seen in 3years*
She frowned as she looked out the window minutes later and saw that they weren't there yet
"Well....however,I'm gonna be in the arms
of the love of my life tonight" She told herself

We're gonna cuddle, play and get goofy.
We'll go on evening walks; holding hands since
we're not rich enough to go on dates to cinemas.
We'll cook our food together cos we don't have money to eat at big restaurants yet, she thought
Against all odds, she smiled immediately she realised they had reached the bus station,
She jumped off the bus and hurriedly reached out for her portable box.
She was so excited and boarded the next taxi cos she was gonna sleep in the arms of the love of her life again, tonight.

Friday, 24 July 2015

21st CENTURY INSANITY II


A generation that has embraced vanity,
And lost sanity.
I live in an age where all that matters most,
Are the latest cars,clothes, shoes and gadgets.
A generation where young people don't want to
come up with ideas and work to make money.
They prefer to chase money on their social media
 statuses with personal messages like
"MMBM", "Dream Chaser", e.t.c

An age where all that matters is Money,Money,Money!!
But help me remind them that Money isn't
the answer to everything.
You will make money and will want more money.
You will have more money and will still want more.
You will have the whole money on earth,
But one thing remains.....
What did you live for with your money?
I cry for this age cos we lack wisdom!

Thursday, 23 July 2015

21st CENTURY INSANITY I

I weep for this generation
I bleed for my unborn children
Cos I live in a generation where "the right" is regarded "wrong"
And "the wrong", right.
I live in a generation where when you rise to speak up the truth, you are regarded a retard.

I'm scared cos it will be hard to convince my children.
How will I tell my children that "gayism" is not God's will?
How will my baby girl understand that covering up her body is rationale?
How will my little prince understand that turning his body to an art board isn't gentlemanly?